The Chairman

As per the Article 182 of the Indian Constitution, the Legislative Council shall have a Chairman. Members of the Council elect the Chairman of the House as per Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council.

The Chairman presides over the sittings of the House. He regulates the debates and proceedings of the House. He is charged with the maintenance of order in the House and enforces the observance of rules by the members. He determines when a member should be called to speak and how long he be allowed to speak. He can impose time-limit on speeches, whenever necessary.

The Chairman decides the admissibility of questions, resolutions and motions. The consent of the Chairman is necessary for the presentation of petitions to the House or for calling the attention of a Minister to any matter of urgent public importance.

The Chairman constitutes various committees and nominates the members and chairmen of the committees and issues directions for the organization of work and procedure to be followed..

Dr. A. Chakrapani
Hon'ble Chairman - Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council

He is a doctorate in Law and practiced as an advocate of Writs, Civil and Criminal Cases at the AP High Court. He has been a member of the Legislative Council from 1976 to 1985 and from 2007 till date. He served as a Chief Whip and also as the Chairman of Committee of Privileges, Committee on Assurance, Committee on Petitions and various others House Committees. Subsequently, he became the Deputy Chairman of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. He is currently serving as the Chairman of the Legislative Council.



 Dr. Chakrapani has published various books and articles on parliamentary affairs and Law. He also conducted several programmes for promotion of adult literacy and eradication of illiteracy. Conducted several programmes on various social issues. He participated in a number of seminars, conferences and work shops both at State, National and International level. He chaired several sessions in different parts of the country on burning topics like National Integration, Secularism and Reservations for OBCs.


Order of the Hon'ble Chairman, A.P. Legislative Council disqualifying Sri Konda Muralidhar Rao,
as Member of Legislative Council (D.P. No. 2 of 2012)


Please select



Governor's Address
A.P. State Budget
RTI Act 
Watch Assembly Live
Members Accommodation
Interesting Facts
Youth & Legislature
Constitution of India
Media Advisory Committee
  H.E.Sri E.S.L.Narasimhan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh unveil the statue of Babasaheb Dr.B.R. Ambedkar on 20.01.2014 in the lawns of Assembly Premises

The Legislature Secretariat provides secretarial assistance to both the Houses of the Legislature. It functions as an independent entity under the ultimate guidance and control of the presiding officers.


Andhra Pradesh Legislature
Public Gardens,
Andhra Pradesh
Pincode-500 004

Tel:+91-40-23232072/ 66101313
Fax: +91 40 23210408

Copyright © Andhra Pradesh Legislature 2012