Chief Whip

The Chief whip is responsible for administering the whipping system that ensures the members to attend the meetings of the House of Legislature for their support on any important matter during division on the Floor of the House, as the party leadership desires. The Government Chief Whip has some very important duties concerning the mapping, monitoring and management of government business in the House. Another important function of the Government Chief Whip is to constantly feel the pulse of the House and apprise the leader of the government about the happenings in the House. They keep in close touch with the Whips of the other parties also on matters concerning the business in the House. 


The role of whips of various political parties and the Government Chief Whip is vital in the management of the Assembly Proceedings. The term Whip was defined by Shri Shivraj V. Patil former Speaker, Lok Sabha, as "the authority in the House who was expected to know the bend of minds of Members".


List of Chief Whips

Sl. No.


Name of the Chief Whip


7th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr. Aareti Kotaiah


8th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr.  K.V. Narayana Rao


9th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mrs. N. Rajakumari


10th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr.  K. Yerram Naidu


11th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr.  Kagitha Venkata Rao


12th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr.  Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy


13th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Mr.  Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka
(upto 04.06.2011)

Mr. Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy (from 9-2-2012)

8. 14th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Sri. Kalava Srinivasulu (21-06-2014 to till date )



Please select



Council of Ministers
Legislative Procedures
Governor's Address
A.P. State Budget
RTI Act 
Members Accommodation
Interesting Facts
Youth & Legislature
Constitution of India
Media Advisory Committee
  An Orientation Programme for Hon'ble Members of Andhra Pradesh Legislature was held on 18th & 19th July, 2014 at Grand  Kakatiya, Hyderabad.

The Legislature Secretariat provides secretarial assistance to both the Houses of the Legislature. It functions as an independent entity under the ultimate guidance and control of the presiding officers.


AP Legislative Assembly
Andhra Pradesh Legislature
Public Gardens, Hyderabad,
Andhra Pradesh,
Pincode-500 004

Tel:+91-40-23233610/ 66362479
Fax: +91 40 23210408

Copyright © Andhra Pradesh Legislature 2012