Leader of the House

The effective management of the Proceedings of the House can be ensured by active participation of the Leader of House, throughout the proceedings. The Leader of the House, who may be the Chief Minister of the State, is a man of influence with great following both in the House and outside. He is the leader of the majority party. His presence in the House is an added strength that ensures smooth functioning of the House.

The Leader of the House frequently conducts meetings with leaders of various political parties in the House, to discuss with them the proposals and measures that the government is planning. During these meetings, he may request the members to offer suggestions so that he can give a final shape to the proposals of planned initiatives, before they are introduced in the House. Such a step on the part of the Leader of the House generates a good will among political parties and their leaders.

The Leader of the House exercises direct influence on the course of the business of the House. His role in arranging government business is vital. It is the Leader of the House who outlines the official programme that has to be transacted during the meetings of the House. The Leader of the House, who is also a Member of the Business Advisory Committee, places its report on the Table of the House and shapes the course and content of legislation. He maintains liaison with other political parties in the House, particularly in case of urgency and intervenes in discussion, responds to the demands of the members of opposition parties and groups, and also controls unusual behavior of members and extends help to the Chair in taking decisions.


Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy - Leader of the House


Mr. Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy was elected as the 16th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh in November, 2010. He is a four-time Member of Legislative Assembly. He was the Government Chief Whip for five years (2004-09) and then Speaker of the Assembly for one and half years (May, 2009 to November, 2010).

Mr. Reddy handled both the jobs of Chief Whip and Speaker to the best of his ability and to the satisfaction of all sections. Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy was first elected to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Vayalpadu constituency of Chittoor district in the year 1989.


Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy was born on 13th September, 1960 in Hyderabad. Mr. Reddy is a Commerce graduate from Nizam College. He also did LLB from Osmania University.

His father, Late Mr. Nallari Amarnath Reddy was a strong and respected politician from Chittoor and also a close aide of former Prime Ministers, Smt. Indira Gandhi and Mr. P. V. Narasimha Rao. Mr.Nallari Amarnath Reddy was a minister in Congress cabinet from 1978 to 1982.

Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy was a promising cricketer during his student days and represented the State and even South Zone of the Country in national and international tournaments.





Please select



Governor's Address
A.P. State Budget
RTI Act 
Watch Assembly Live
Members Accommodation
Interesting Facts
Youth & Legislature
Constitution of India
Media Advisory Committee
  H.E.Sri E.S.L.Narasimhan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh unveil the statue of Babasaheb Dr.B.R. Ambedkar on 20.01.2014 in the lawns of Assembly Premises

The Legislature Secretariat provides secretarial assistance to both the Houses of the Legislature. It functions as an independent entity under the ultimate guidance and control of the presiding officers.


Andhra Pradesh Legislature
Public Gardens,
Andhra Pradesh
Pincode-500 004

Tel:+91-40-23232072/ 66101313
Fax: +91 40 23210408
eMail: seclegis@ap.nic.in

Copyright © Andhra Pradesh Legislature 2012