About Deputy Chairman

 Deputy Chairman

As per the Article 182 of the Indian Constitution, the Legislative Council shall have a Deputy Chairman. The Deputy Chairman is elected by the Members of the Council in accordance with rules 9 and 10 of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

The Deputy Chairman has the same powers as the Chairman when presiding over a sitting of the House and all references to the Chairman in the rules are deemed to be reference to the Deputy Chairman when he so presides. If the Deputy Chairman is a member of a committee, he is appointed as the chairman of the Committee.

Hon'ble Deputy Chairman    - Smt.Mayana Zakia Khanam