A whip's role is also to ensure that the elected representatives of their party are in attendance when important votes are taken. Whips of political parties play a very important role. The efficient and smooth functioning of the legislative system depends to a considerable extent upon the office of the ‘Whips' who can be rightly said to be the managers of the parties within the legislatures.

Every political party that has its party members in the House of Legislature, appoints one or more of its members as Whip or Whips. The Whips supply their members with all important information and ensure the presence and participation of Members of their respective parties in the House, especially during important discussions and voting. They also interact with the Presiding Officers and the secretariat of the concerned House on behalf of their parties and Members to ensure efficient coordination vis-a-vis the complex requirements of Legislative procedures, practices and conventions.
The role of whips of various political parties and the Government Chief Whip is vital in the management of the Assembly Proceedings. The term Whip was defined by Shri Shivraj V. Patil former Speaker, Lok Sabha, as "the authority in the House who was expected to know the bend of minds of Members".


Sl. No.



7th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. M. Kishan Rao

8th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. T. Seetha Ram      

2. Mr. K. Jayaram            

9th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. K. Veera Reddy

2. Mr. A. Jagadeesh

3. Mr. C. Venkata Sesha Reddy


10th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. R. Chandrasekhar Reddy

2. Mr. G. Krishna Yadav

3. Mr. P. Subbaiah                       

4. Mr. S.V. China Appala Naidu

11th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. E. Dayakar Rao    

2. Mr. G. Babu Rao         

3. Mr. Syed Yousuf Ali   

4. Mr. P. Raghunatha Reddy     


12th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. Udaya Bhanu                      

2. Mr. D. Sridhar Babu   


13th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Mr. Sake Sailajanath
    (upto 25.11.2010)      

2. Mr. Kondru Murali Mohan
    (upto 5-2-2012 to till date)

3. Mr. Dronamraju Srinivasa Rao
    (from 9-2-2012 to till date)

4. Mr.Arepally Mohan
    (from 9-2-2012 to till date)

5. Mr.E. Anil Kumar
    (from 9-2-2012 to till date)

6. Mr.Perni Venkata Ramaiah
    (from 9-2-2012 to 31-01-2013)

7. Mr.Turupu Jaya Prakash Reddy
    (from 9-2-2012 to till date)

8. 14th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1. Sri. Chintamaneni Prabhakar
   ( 21-06-2014 to till date)

2. Sri. Kuna Ravikumar
   ( 21-06-2014 to till date)

3. Sri. Meda Mallikarjuna Reddy
   ( 21-06-2014 to till date)

4. Smt. Yaminibala
   ( 21-06-2014 to till date)




Please select



Council of Ministers
Legislative Procedures
Governor's Address
A.P. State Budget
RTI Act 
Members Accommodation
Interesting Facts
Youth & Legislature
Constitution of India
Media Advisory Committee
  An Orientation Programme for Hon'ble Members of Andhra Pradesh Legislature was held on 18th & 19th July, 2014 at Grand  Kakatiya, Hyderabad.

The Legislature Secretariat provides secretarial assistance to both the Houses of the Legislature. It functions as an independent entity under the ultimate guidance and control of the presiding officers.


AP Legislative Assembly
Andhra Pradesh Legislature
Public Gardens, Hyderabad,
Andhra Pradesh,
Pincode-500 004

Tel:+91-40-23233610/ 66362479
Fax: +91 40 23210408
eMail: ksnrao.apla@gmail.com

Copyright © Andhra Pradesh Legislature 2012