About Speaker

The Speaker

The Office of the Speaker of Legislative Assembly is a constitutional one. Under Article 178 of the Indian Constitution every Legislative Assembly of a State shall, choose one of its Members as Speaker. Detailed procedure regarding the Election of the Speaker is prescribed in Rule 7, 8 and 9 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

The powers and duties of the Speaker have been laid down in the rules of the Legislative Assembly and to some extent in the Constitution. The Speaker is the principal spokesman of the House. He represents its collective voice and is its sole representative to the world. Communications from the Governor to the House are made through the Speaker. Similarly communications to the Governor are made through the Speaker in the form of a formal address after a motion has been made and carried by the House.

As the representative of the House, the Speaker communicates the decisions of the House to the authorities concerned, requiring them to comply with the terms of such decisions. Similarly, he communicates to the House letters and documents addressed to him. He also issues warrants to execute the orders of the House, where necessary.

The Speaker regulates the debates and proceedings of the House. He determines the order of the Government and other Business in the House. He has the power to recognize parties and groups in the House. The Speaker decides the admissibility of Questions as per the guiding principles laid down in the Rules. The Speaker decides on the admissibility of resolutions and motions. The consent of the Speaker is necessary for the presentation of petitions to the House.

It is the Speaker who determines what matters are money' matters as these fall within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Legislative Assembly. If the Speaker certifies a Bill as a Money Bill, his decision is final. Under the Constitution, the Speaker exercises only a casting vote in the case of equality of votes in any matter.

The Speaker holds the Office from the date of his election till immediately before the first meeting of the Legislative Assembly after the dissolution of the one to which he was elected, unless he ceases to be a member by any of the reasons specified in Article 179 of the Indian Constitution.


Honourable Speaker  -  Sri Thammineni Seetharam

Speaker    Speech